A clay pot obsession

I’m talking about these bad boys… They may not look like much, but i’m certainly in love.

I don’t know what it is about them, but i’d certainly have my whole kitchen full of this pottery if I could! These traditional pots, pans, plates, mugs etc are found all around the state of Morelos, and while most Mexicans favour more modern cookware, you can still find things like cafe de olla being prepared and served in these clay pots (apparently it really does make this traditional Mexican coffee taste as good as it does!)

Not only do most of my Mexico photo albums feature this pottery quite heavily, but I’m slowly building up a steady supply at home and even took 3 attempts to fly a frying pan home without any breakages! I just love eating and drinking out of something so pretty and you can pretty much guarantee any food Instagram i do will also feature these (evidence below).

Is it just me who’s obsessed with things like this? I can’t wait to add add some more bits to my collection when i fly home in a few weeks. Let me know if you have a love like this for local handicraft 🙂

Molly

Leave a Reply

