Life on the move – tips for moving house

Around this time 4 years ago I packed up my bags and moved off to University as a nervous fresher. Pretty much since then I’ve spent my life with no more than 9 months in one place, so I’m kind of used to this moving malarkey and thought I’d share a few tips I learnt on the way.

1) Don’t judge a book by its cover

So my halls in first year were an actual dump. There were 52 of us on the floor and 26 people per kitchen (yes, 26!!! And only one sink!!) They were old, they were grotty and they were definitely not a place you’d think you’d call home. But, in times like this you’ve just got to suck it up, accept you’re paying an incredibly cheap rent and make the most of it, and within one day I was loving it! Sharing with so many people as a fresher was the best fun, there was always someone about, there was guaranteed to be people you’d get along with and you spent such little time in your room that it didn’t really matter anyway. Of course, if after these first few days and weeks there is something properly wrong then don’t be afraid to talk to someone about it to get it sorted, all I’m trying to say is to give it a chance.

2) Be prepared to have forgotten essentials

Now, no matter how many lists I write, how prepared I am, I will ALWAYS forget something. It’s now got to the point where my mum jokes when she’s moving me in that she’ll hear from me when I realise what I’ve forgotten (I think my best was my whole makeup bag…) In my experience, this will inevitably happen, not that I use this as excuse to not prepare, but more to remind myself that moving is a stressful time, and if you have forgotten something, don’t freak out, it happens and it isn’t the end of the world!

3) Don’t overbuy

I’m someone who likes to be prepared, so that when I arrive somewhere new I won’t have to go dashing out to the shops. But, sometimes you can be too prepared and waste a lot of money. I mean seriously, the amount of George Forman’s in our kitchen was ridiculous! What I’m trying to say is that if there’s something you’re not sure you’ll need, odds are you can last one night without it, and sometimes it’s best to leave these items (stuff like toastie makers, clothes airers etc) until you move in and can establish the situation.

4) Make your new digs your home

Whenever I move into a new house, I always commit one day to putting everything away properly and making my room as comfortable as it can be. I have the same flowered bunting, same duvet cover, same photos and the same ornaments up every year and even though I’m somewhere new, it always feels like home.

 

5) Be sociable

This counts both for when you’re moving in with other people or on your own. I’ve only ever lived in shared houses or halls, and the best advice I can give is to try and spend as much time in the communal spaces as possible, meet your new housemates and just generally make an effort. I’ll admit, I do sometimes love just coming home and locking myself in my room for a proper chill out, but in your first few days, it’s always best to make that extra effort. Equally, sometimes your house isn’t the most sociable, or you’re living alone, in which case, find some clubs to join and get chatting to your course mates or work colleagues. My new house isn’t the most sociable so I’ve joined a running club and am looking to join a netball league in the next month to make some new friends in the area.

6) Explore your new area

Just get out! Find out what’s around you, where you can go, what you can do and just generally embrace being in a completely new place. This is my first time living in a big city and I feel so much more settled now I’ve had a little explore, established what’s around me, where to go and also where not to go (no place is perfect after all!)

img_1011
Feeling very happy to have found this beautiful park only a 10 minute run down the road from me.

That’s it from me after my first week in Manchester. Comment below if you’re getting ready to move somewhere new and have questions to be answered or tips to add 🙂

Molly

Leave a Reply

